The Black Bull is one of Toronto’s oldest and most iconic taverns. Situated on Queen Street West, it originally opened in 1838 and was rebuilt in 1886. It was adopted by City Council as a heritage property in 1980. Well known for its extremely busy summer patio, the Black Bull has become one of the most prolific heritage buildings in the city.
In 2011 a three alarm fire ripped through the apartments above the historic site. Hudson Restoration attended the emergency and had the tavern up and running within 2 days. During the restoration phase in 2012 Hudson restored the Mansard roof and third floor windows to heritage standards. The slate tiles were replaced with ashphalt in a pattern that was similar to the earlier slate tiles. The slate rock tiles on the roof survived the fire.